The Union has 5 different levels of Governance. These include the Annual General Meeting (AGM), Union Council, The Executive Committee, the Electoral Commission and the GSU Board.


The most supreme authority is the Annual General Meeting whereby all Union members are invited to attend and vote on issues of importance to postgraduate students in TCD. The GSU holds its AGM at the beginning of each academic year and in 2017, this will be held on September 27th in the Thomas Davis Theatre, Arts block .

The AGM makes major decisions regarding how the GSU functions, as well as determining the path that it will take for the coming year. Some members of the Executive Committee, which is tasked with implementing those decisions, are also elected at the AGM.

These positions include that are elected at the AGM include the members of the Events sub-committee, as well as the members of the Electoral Commission.


GSU Council

All School and Course Reps, as well as PhD Reps automatically become members of the GSU Council. The Council, which meets four times a year, provides an opportunity to discuss the activities and goals of the GSU. Furthermore, it provides the stage from which the postgraduate student body may engage with the GSU regarding any issues that are of concern, and allows for the Executive Officers to hear directly from the postgraduate community.

GSU Representatives have a number of other important responsibilities. See the following for a breakdown.

Council is also an excellent opportunity for the postgraduate community to inform the GSU of any new ideas as we need your input to move the GSU forward. The first meeting of Council for the 2017-18 academic year will take place during Michaelmas term on Wednesday October 25th in the Thomas Davis Theatre, Arts block. The other dates include 29/11/2017, 31/01/2018 and 07/03/2018. Dates are subject to change.


Executive Committee

The members of the Executive Committee meet once per month to arrange the activities of the Union and to determine how best to implement decisions taken by Council and the AGM. Members often discuss and propose ideas for the benefit of the Union and are active participants in GSU initiatives.


GSU Electoral Commission

The Electoral Commission is a separate entity to the Executive Committee and is responsible for the running of elections. The independence of its members is central to its operation. It is composed of five members, who are elected at the Annual General Meeting. The Oversight Officer sits on the Electoral Commission committee and is the only representative to sit on all 5 governance bodies in the Union. The Electoral Commission will, within their own committee, elect a Chair who shall oversee the running of elections and report on the Electoral Commission's activities to the President of the Union.

GSU Board

The Board of the Union operates in an advisory role making recommendations to the Union from time to time. The Board is afforded independence over how it conducts its duties and independently elects a Chair of the Board. There are 9 members of the Board, one of these being the Oversight Officer who acts as Secretary to the Board, one member who is elected at AGM to serve a one year term, and there must be at least one GSU Alumnus on the Board. GSU Council also has the powers to send a Representative, should Council deem necessary.